Christian Church / Christianity / Evangelism / Faith / Religion / Thoughts

Would I want that God?

I have always despised the factions of Christianity not understanding why little things like full immersion baptism can split churches apart.  Why do we have to create a different house of worship for a conviction issue?  But what if we take it a step further? What about the other Abrahamic faiths? We can all agree that we worship the same God. What if the choice of the Messiah or most important prophet is a conviction issue to God? Carl Ernst in Rethinking Muhammad pointed out that Judaism, Islam and Christianity have become idols. Could that be true? Are we focusing on the religion more than on the God?

How can we all claim the same God and each say the other is damned to hell?  Would the traditions that we, in our separate communities, have practiced really keep us from that Paradise even if we are all faithful to the true God? If yes, then are we saying that ritual and worship is more important than faithful devotion to the true God?

The more people in different faiths I get to know, the harder it is to think that their faith will amount to nothing. How could a God who has created a person and received nothing but love and devotion from them, turn that person away for choosing the wrong prophet? And what’s more, who am I to think that I’m the one who’s got it right? I see in their eyes, in their lives what I’ve felt in mine: love for God that I feel so close to me. How could my God ignore that? Would I want a God that could?

16 thoughts on “Would I want that God?

    • They each believe in the God of Abraham. Dios, Yahweh, Allah, Bog, Dievas, ໃສ, бог, Gud, God. It doesn’t matter what language, sweetie. God is God. Could I suggest that you do a little research on Islam. Preferably, make friends with a Muslim whom you don’t find threatening or perhaps read the Faith Club to get a better sense of what you are talking about.

      Like

      • It’s not about following “God” it is about asking Christ to save you. Islam does not do that, therefore they do not follow the same God but rather a god.

        Like

        • We are worshiping the same Father God. If you believe what your are really saying which is from your initial comment to me that Islam is the one that doesn’t fit for this reason, then you must also believe that Judaism doesn’t either. Refer back to the most important commandment. Love the Lord your God, and like unto that your neighbor as yourself. We all love that God. What you are reading is my own struggle to understand what “qualifies or disqualifies’ one from heaven. I know your perspective, but I am only interested in my God’s perspective. There is nothing wrong with me fleshing it out. I would appreciate it if you stop leaving petty comments. I will provide you with my email address should you be interested in continuing this discussion.

          Like

          • You are correct, I would agree that Judaism is also not correct as they do not recognize Jesus as Lord. If you only worship the Father, but reject the Son, He will say “Depart from Me, I never knew you.” The whole premise of Salvation is Christ. That is what Scripture teaches. So no, other religions do not fit that mold. It’s not about worshipping God. It is about gaining back the connection to Him through payment of sin. The only acceptable payment is Christ, and one must accept Him.

            Like

  1. I have often thought about whether all religions in some form or fashion follow the same God. In addition to the special revelation of the Bible, there is the general revelation in nature that is available to everyone (cf. Romans 1:20). Every single person throughout history has access to the entirety of God’s nature, and so all religious reflection will likely contain some part of that nature.

    Unfortunately there are just as many who get it wrong as those who get it right. The Abrahamic religions all claim the same God, it is their relation to Him that is different. I believe that Allah is God, but I think that Muslims have follow an incorrect path to relate to Him. The difference with Christianity is that it is the only religion in the world that does not ask us to earn salvation. The continual focus on the differences ignores the important aspect of what we share; those commonalities are the bridges that allow others to come to a saving knowledge of Christ.

    I agree with your point above that the conversation is as important as the conclusion. I have my beliefs, you have yours, and the rest of the world has theirs. But if we cannot reasonably discuss them, then we have no hope of understanding one another, much less strolling hand in hand down the path of redemption in Christ. You have to continue talking about it: tolerance is not accepting all other beliefs, but rather respecting them and allowing them into the discussion.

    Like

    • The idea of general revelation is why I find this idea so intriguing. I am glad to hear that someone sees the connection. Part of the inspiration for this was a discussion I had with my mother in law while we were talking about general and secondary revelations. She believes that once someone receives general revelation God will somehow bring them the gospel so they can reach salvation. I struggle with that idea.
      I agree with you and though I’ve kept my personal answers out of this I too believe that Christianity is the best way to relate to God. And though that wasn’t the point of the post, I believe that Christ is a manifestation of certain qualities of God and when He experienced with us he made it possible for All to find salvation because of His relationships with us.
      The point is that we don’t know what God sees in the heart, and it’s not wrong to wonder. Thanks for your comment. I appreciate the thoughts and am glad to see that someone else is intrigued as well.

      Like

  2. I personally think that faith is beyond religion. Religion is too muddled up in its politics, traditions and dogma. I’m an atheist so I no longer have faith (I say “no longer” because I used to subscribe to a faith) but I don’t have qualms with people who have it because they believe it would lead them to love, compassion and appreciation of the beauty of life. What I don’t like about religion is how it is used as a tool for power and does so in the guise of faith. I could totally respect a church/congregation/mosque/etc if it paves way for people to find peace and love. (Funny how religious people always ask to be respected when they don’t even respect other beliefs or lack thereof). If not, I would like to tear it apart.

    Like

      • loool
        Actually I saw what I hadn’t seen in years even after being a Christian for years, I saw God as a different person, not as the person i’d assumed him to be. Times when I even questioned my faith, the book made me realize the reality of things and the perversion of truth.
        Things would happen, people will say things, infact I would doubt but there was one thing I needed to know and realize and the earlier it is realized, the better it would be for someone who wills to grow in grace daily.
        A friend gave sent it to me and believe you me It helped a lot and made me understand the Bible better, made me see things I didn’t see, that years of teaching didn’t make me see.
        Its a wonderful book I assure you and I really don’t want to post spoilers here. It was a man going through pain after losing his daughter and questions that he threw at God daringly since he didn’t understand why God would just sit and watch or rather, let bad things happen. It’s about what he desires for every single soul and the reason why he sent Jesus.
        Let me say all in all, it brought tears to my eyes and though all questions were not answered.(no one can except God anyway) some way, some parts of my curious questions too were answered.
        What do I know anyway, since He says As the heavens are far from the earth, so are his thoughts from mine and his ways too. I’m only human.
        So, I imploy you, I would really love you to get the book and give me whatever feedback when you do, or if yo happen to get your hands on it.
        I hope I’ve answered your question dear?
        Thank you. 🙂

        Like

  3. Pingback: What I’m for: Religiosity as experience, not an idol. | Sacred Struggler

Complaints, Compliments and Questions

