Christianity / Ethics / Family / Politics

My Ethic of Life Questions

So the first debate is tonight and I’ve been thinking about abortion.What is the beginning of life? I know what some of you will say and not that you shouldn’t say it, but as my blog implies I want to struggle with it. So what is the beginning of life? Is it conception because God’s knows us before we were born and formed us in the womb? Or is it something else? I was thinking about how most Christians don’t believe that animals have souls because when Noah counted how many souls were aboard the ark the total number was the number of the humans. Then I though about how God breathed life into Adam and he became a living soul. So now I am wondering is it possible that our soul doesn’t come into being until our first breath? Just a thought.

Back to politics, I find that the republican party does not have a consist ethic of life. And when I express this to my in-laws my mother in law gets very hostile. She will only vote for republicans because, even though they won’t change it, they don’t support abortion. I always think… what about the children that we are killing in the wars we fight? But war she says is ugly and necessary. What about the people that die because they can’t pay for a necessary medical procedure? Well, she didn’t need insurance when she was younger.

It just doesn’t seem Christ-like to me. I don’t remember a Bible verse that says if you don’t have the money for health care, go screw yourself because I’m not paying for you. Or one that says that if you’ve been in need to long you no longer deserve help. In fact, I can’t even think of one that says that we shouldn’t give people food or clothing or shelter. But (yes I’m going to quote scripture) Matthew 25:42-46 says “Then shall he say also unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me no meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me no drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me not in: naked, and ye clothed me not: sick, and in prison, and ye visited me not.Then shall they also answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungered, or athirst, or a stranger, or naked, or sick, or in prison, and did not minister unto thee? Then shall he answer them, saying, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye did it not to one of the least of these, ye did it not to me. And these shall go away into everlasting punishment: but the righteous into life eternal.”

It’s funny because to me it sounds like if you forget the poor and needy you’ll be forgotten. So how will this affect my voting this year? I certainly don’t want the manure (politcs) touching my ice cream (faith), but if I could get rid of the smell I would smother the manure in ice cream to be sure.

4 thoughts on “My Ethic of Life Questions

  1. I’m only on your first paragraph but, I love your “just a thought” I sure never thought about that. Excellent point. had to let you know you caught my interest right away. Will keep reading 🙂

    Like

  2. Okay, this was flipping GREAT. Recently WordPress put out all the blogs they thought were good for the month of September Well, if I was one of their peeps your blog here would be the top of October! The part where you wrote the analogy, “I certainly don’t want the manure (politcs) touching my ice cream (faith), but if I could get rid of the smell I would smother the manure in ice cream to be sure.” ROCKED ha! Thank you for sharing, you have started my day off with interesting points and a good nature. Gosh! sorry my comment is soooooo long.

    Like

Complaints, Compliments and Questions

