First love / Thoughts

This is my Dark Side

“In spite of its function as a reservoir for human darkness—or perhaps because of this—the shadow is the seat of creativity.” -Carl Jung

It’s been easy to live here lately, in the shadow. Jung says that the less the conscious mind recognizes the shadow side, the deeper and darker it becomes. I don’t know. It consumes me sometimes. Presses me down when I don’t ignore. That’s where I am now. Being pressed into the darkness…

Last year the ladies at work called me Pollyanna. I was the bright spot. I was the optimist. I was the one who cheered them up. I’ve lost my way back there.

I’ve been writing. I’ve been creating, but that just means I’m living in the darkness. I can’t take this. I was driving to work today near tears. I didn’t think I’d make it. I just wanted some time to wallow, to wade deeper into my darkness. I just wanted to sit and cry a while.

I buried it. I made it. Not a tear fell from these eyes today.

7 thoughts on “This is my Dark Side

  1. I’ve had my share of “dark days”. But whenever I do one quote always comes to mind “one bad day doesn’t mean you have a bad life”. Even if you have two bad days, or three. There is always something to be grateful for. It’s not easy to be optimistic when you feel like you have no reason to be… but hold your head up high, keep on going one step at a time, and better days will come your way. They always do, no matter how impossible and dark it may seem at the moment. Stay strong. I’m praying for you.

    Like

Complaints, Compliments and Questions

