Hypocrisy / Life / Politics / Sex / Thoughts

The Patriot Act, Privacy, and Posting Our Lives.

First of all, let me say that I like Facebook. When I first joined only college age people were allowed and there were no apps. That’s right not a single one. I remember when poke became available. I remember poking my friends and then being thrilled when the other actions became available. But sometime in all this fun, I think we abandoned a desire for personal privacy and the mistaken idea that we are all celebrities and people care about everything we see and do and where we are while we do it. It’s a lie. You are most likely not a celebrity and I not I don’t care where my work acquaintance had dinner ten minutes ago and where she is going next. paris-cryingI also don’t want to receive an email every time my sister from another mother wakes up at five because her daughter’s up and makes bacon and pancakes before her daughter trashes the living room and then falls asleep in a funny position. And how did everyone at my Mom’s church find out that young lady was sleeping with her boyfriend? She posted it to Facebook. Oops.

Didn’t we used to value our privacy? I used to hide my diary away and if what I did was scandalous, I wouldn’t write at all or I’d use the code I made up. I’d slam my door, and whisper with me friends. Swear them to secrecy and hate them if they blabbed. Now, we do the blabbing. We don’t need anything to be private. We want everybody to know everything about us. Why? Do we need to feel validated?lindsay-lohan-crying

I mean, I remember when I first heard about the patriot act and my friends and I thought it would be fun to call each other and say “bomb” over and over and wonder if we’d gotten onto some kind of list in some secret department. But really after about ten minutes and realizing that the government could be watching through our webcams, we didn’t think it was so cool. We thought it was quite creepy. For some reason, it seems like people are glamorizing or at least approving of a group of stalkers. It’s fun to have people be able to just show up at the Starbucks where you just bought candy cane coffee near Main Street Plaza. And in case your stalker would get lost, no worries, there’s a map just under the status.

crying celebPerhaps, I’m a bit of hypocrite writing a blog and thinking that people may care what I think or that I may change or be changed by letting you all read my mind. It’s a good possibility. I’m okay with that. But hear my plea youth of America, don’t post what you wouldn’t want found out. And just a word of wisdom: You’re not a celebrity, so enjoy your privacy. Let’s face it the constant attention didn’t bode well for Britney, and do you really  want every one knowing every detail and being invited to comment on it?

6 thoughts on “The Patriot Act, Privacy, and Posting Our Lives.

  1. Someone once said that if you don’t want people to steal you info, don’t put it on the internet. You gotta be careful what you put out there, for security reasons, privacy, or just plain stupidity (like the girl you mentioned sleeping with her boyfriend). The internet is all-powerful. Don’t give it anything you don’t want it to have total control over (that’ll preach…)

    Like

  2. As someone who has worked on the Internet for well, since it started, I can say that yes, it has become a monster. However, that monster only exists when others feed it and what’s important now is learning how to maintain anonymity on the surface. Social Networking is one big spoon that is used to feed marketing agencies, it can also be a fork that pokes into you and feeds your data to any government agency that makes a valid request for it. Of course, it all depends on the level of personal privacy you want to maintain but unfortunately most are just throwing caution to the wind now.

    Good read and, yes, there are people out here interested in what you write. 😉

    Like

Complaints, Compliments and Questions

