Christianity / Faith / Religion / Thoughts

Is Jesus all-knowing?

It’s an easy assumption, but one all the same. If Jesus is God and God is omniscient then Jesus is omniscient. But is that an absolute? Does not knowing one thing prevent one from being omniscient? Well, considering the very meaning omni is All, then yes. Not knowing one thing disqualifies one from being omniscient. This brings about my second question: is God omniscient? And then, if God is omniscient, is Jesus God? Could it be that the other assumption we’ve made is that Jesus is God? Did I lose you? Are you ready to leave an angry comment? Hold on, let me give some background for where I’m at.

I’ve posted before asking if Jesus really is God considering that Jesus never says so and, in fact, makes statements that seem to allude that He was not. Today though, my concern comes from a verse in a sermon I just finished from liquid church. Mark 13:31-32 says this, “Heaven and earth shall pass away: but my words shall not pass away. But of that day and that hour knows no man, no, not the angels which are in heaven, neither the Son, but the Father.” While the sermon had nothing to do with whether or not Christ was all-knowing, the verse stopped me dead for a second. Wait, wait. Jesus doesn’t even know when He is coming back? Wait, wait, wait. Isn’t Jesus God and therefore all knowing? I paused the sermon and wrote it down in an effort to approach you all with humility and ask: is Jesus, as God, omniscient or not?

Like a true blue googler, my first response is to google verses where Jesus says that he is omniscient. However, just like my attempts at an easy proof for Jesus being God, I could find no such claim made. There are several verses where Jesus knew things before they happened. There are verses where other people say that Jesus knows their thoughts, that Jesus knows everything. ( A claim we casually bat around today.) But again I was met with no, for lack of a better word, proof that Jesus was indeed omniscient. I am not looking for the kind of proof that I would need to prove Jesus’ all knowing status to an unbeliever, mind you. I am looking for Jesus or the Bible to tell me that, yes indeed, Christ was omniscient as it does with God the Father. (Fellow Blogger’s List, most convincingly, 1 John 3:20) I mean, if God really is omniscient, then why not say so outright in so many words because God would know that I would be writing this to you all today? Why not extinguish doubt? That’s all it would take for me to defend it. But I could find no such claim made by Jesus, again I only found an allusion that seems to prove otherwise. but isn’t it an understood that Jesus and God are one in the same and therefore have the same ‘powers?’ Unless, of course, Jesus and God really aren’t one in the same. Perhaps, Jesus was simply a mouthpiece for God though others assume and claim otherwise. Perhaps the places where Jesus seems to be speaking for God, He was doing just that and nothing. Perhaps, Jesus really was simply God’s vehicle for a different aspect of God’s message.

One a different note, perhaps Jesus was equal to God, but not identical. This means that while Jesus, as the Son, was God in that he was equal; he would not necessarily have all the qualities and attributes that God the Father does. I find this a very interesting thought. It’s also another interesting idea that Jesus, in his wholly human state, does not possess the knowledge of God as if he had schizophrenia.  The human aspect of Jesus isn’t omniscient, but wholly man, whereas the wholly Godlike part does. but again this is trying to wrap a human mind around a Godlike concept that I feel we’re doomed to never understand. Regardless of Jesus schizophrenia or His fraternal twin like identity related to God, I found this passage troubling. It still brings me back to wondering what we sacrifice by not checking everything in question and assuming that we know something. It puts sola scriptura in a different perspective for me, because I think that the church and it’s traditions have assumed a lot about the nature and roles of God that isn’t laid plainly out in scripture. Have we become a midrashim based faith rather than a scripture based faith? Has doctrine become our idol capable of distracting us from what the scripture really says?

7 thoughts on “Is Jesus all-knowing?

  1. Hi, I am a christian, and I don’t think Jesus knew everything. Christians believe he was divine, but also that he was human. And a human brain couldn’t contain all the knowledge that God has.

    So it is no wonder that Jesus said there was at least one thing he didn’t know. And Philippians 2:7 says that he “emptied himself” or “made himself nothing”, which suggests to me that there was much more that he didn’t know while on earth, and much more he couldn’t do.

    And think about the moment after Mary delivered him – did he know anything much at all at that moment? Could he do anything at all except breathe and drink and ….? I don’t think so.

    I have no difficulty with all of that – in fact I think I would be more troubled if he did know everything, because he would not then be a real human being. I think this is another aspect of the humility of God to take on human form for our sakes – just as Philippians says.

    Like

  2. There are several places in the NT where we are told that Jesus “learned.” I.e. In Hebrews we read that He learned obedience. I believe the key is the Phil. 2 passage where we are told that although He was in the form of God, He didn’t cling to His rights as God, but emptied Himself and came to earth as a man.

    After studying Scripture extensively for many years, I’ve begun to see that Jesus left all that was His as “God” when He chose to come to earth in human form. What we see in His life is what life could be if we were fully surrendered to God, and empowered by the Holy Spirit.

    Having understood this to be the case, there have been a few times in my life when I “tested” what I understood – and found it to be true. In those rare instances when I have been fully surrendered and relying on the Holy Spirit for direction, He has done amazing things through me – things I could not have done on my own…people healed, a baby raised from the dead, demons cast out.

    If you knew me, you’d know that this is not my usual “fare.” I come from a fairly conservative church where they talk about the gifts of the Spirit, but don’t really want to have them exercised on a Sunday. That leaves me to reach out to people outside our congregation…which is probably a good thing. Most of those I minister to would never enter a church building!

    It would seem that in the “emptying” of Himself and become a human being (forever, I might add), Jesus chose to NOT know everything, but to fully rely on His Father to handle the details.

    In Isaiah 9, we are told that the coming One would be called,”Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Price of Peace.” I have to admit that “Mighty God” and “Everlasting Father” throw me for a loop. If He’s the Son, then how can He also be the Father? I’m clueless – but then I’m also not omniscient! Hopefully we’ll be better able to understand this when we see Him face-to-face!

    \o/

    Like

  3. I can dig where you’re coming from. Your honesty is refreshing. I just wrote a piece called, “Would Our God Create Lucifer Knowing He Becomes Satan”. Bottom line: I don’t think God is an insecure, needs-to-know-every-step, Orwellian, Sovereign Dictator. He says that He IS Agape. Agape doesn’t demand its own way. He doesn’t demand that everything be set-in-stone. He’s a big secure God who although has all the power, holds back in order to relate to us. He holds back and gives us real choice. Otherwise, how could an Omniscient God ever say, “I never knew you”. Omniscience is to have every kind of knowledge. Agape is willing to take risks. God is big enough to handle it. That’s real love.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Would Our God Create Lucifer Knowing He Becomes Satan? | Defrosting Windows

  5. Hello children of the one true living God, please pray that you will be accounted worthy to escape the hour of temptation that is going to come upon the entire world. And pray that you will also be accounted worthy to stand in the presence of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, the Son of God.

    Like

Complaints, Compliments and Questions

