Christianity / Rant / Religion

When are Christians going to realize the Bible isn’t proof for people who don’t believe it?

During this hiatus from my job, I have been reading and watching a ton of documentaries. Right now, I am frustrated with it. I started to watch a documentary that claims to show proof that an eternal God is more logical than the universe popping up out of nothing. While I am definitely not sold on evolution, I thought I was going to at least hear a reasoned argument. Instead, it’s verse after verse talking about how detailed and complex the world is. Really? The world’s complex? We didn’t notice, moving on to the proof please. I think that it is ridiculously sad that the creation side seems to have no logical arguments easily accessible. There are logical explanations that don’t require simply Scripture though are supported by Scripture. Ahh! Where is the logic?

6 thoughts on “When are Christians going to realize the Bible isn’t proof for people who don’t believe it?

  1. It is worse than that. They twist scientific concepts. Before 1960, the “wrinkled apple” theory was common: Earth just cooled down from its original molten state with the mountains there. In the 60s, continental drift became more popular, and now it is generally accepted. Creationists pervert the idea, to show how marsupials could have got to Australia from the Ark: Pangaea broke up after the Flood, they say. It is entirely parasitic on proper science.

    Geologists have evidence of an ice-age where the polar ice caps almost met at the equator. If they had, we would not be here. Is that Providence, or just the fact that, well, we could not notice, if we were not here?

  2. Some christians used to talk about the revelation of God through both the Bible and nature (they had a phrase which I can’t remember, but it was something like the word in the Bible and the word in nature). The Bible certainly says that nature teaches us things about God

    If God gave us brains and the ability to do science, then we should expect our science to mostly lead to truth. Obviously there will be exceptions, because scientists can be biased, and science often needs to correct itself as new information comes in.

    So I think it is generally best to accept the well-established findings of science (and of history) but be cautious about the less established conclusions, and take much less notice when scientists use their position and authority to speak on other subjects (such as religion, ethics, etc, where they probably know no more than you or I).

    But many christians seem to be afraid of this, especially regarding evolution, which is unfortunate as Genesis 1-3 doesn’t read like history to me.

    • That would be general and secondary/ special revelations. General is from creation. The other is from the word of God. (Though this may or may not include supernatural elements.)

      I think that our reason, while God given, can lead us far off course. Like everything else in life that was God created and us screwed up. But that’s not really my concern with it. It literally doesn’t make sense to me. While I’m not anti-evolution necessarily, I just don’t buy it. I see no evidence and it seems to disregard the basic laws of physics. It logically doesn’t make sense to me.

      I don’t think that Genesis reads like a history either. We see several accounts of creation in the Bible. No one was there after all, but God.

      Thanks as always for commenting.

  3. I so sympathise with your question. However, I would phrase it differently: When are Christians going to realise that they don’t need to prove anything? Conviction (in the sense of convincing, not prosecution!) is not our job, it is the work of the Holy Spirit. Our task is only to be (emphasis be, not speaking) witnesses. How, or whether people respond is not our concern, except where it reflects upon our failure to live up to their expectations. Now, I wonder where they get those expectations from….?

    • I think it’s quite important to be able to prove your faith actually. 1 Peter 3:15. I do however believe that there is a fine line between thinking that you need to convert (Holy Spirit’s job) and thinking that you need to explain (ours). The explaining part is what feel we, as a collective, seem to find trivial. And I do definitely agree that our highest calling to be the example, but that we should also be ready, when asked, to give reasons that make sense for why we believe the way we do.

Complaints, Compliments and Questions

