Christian Church / Christianity / Hypocrisy / Religion

Twisted Christianity: Cutting out Christ.

In America, I feel we are at an impasse. Christ and his words are at odds with the politics that many try to force on Him. His words and examples are being cast aside for the worship of freedom and self-reliance. It’s an amazing phenomenon to me that what we hear everyday as the politics for Christ have very little, nearly nothing to do with Christ himself or His teachings.

I have talked with many of the Christian Right. When I ask why they don’t support the government programs that help feed the hungry and heal the sick. I usually get the answer that they do want to support and help those people but no where in the Bible does it endorse being forced to do right. They should be able to have the option of taking care of the poor and needy. The stress that I find comes when the Christian Right wants this country to be a Christian nation. My family members want to run the country with Christian values, but not fiscally, only sexually. The Christian Right seems hell-bent on upholding the Christian value of one man and one woman marriage, of the restriction of birth control and lack of talk of sex in schools, but not on helping the poor or in the case of war. Every time my in-laws bring up the subject I ask them why they think we should be preoccupied with the words of Paul and completely neglect the words of Christ. The answer is always dispensational theology. Did you know that Christ wasn’t even talking to Christians?! According to dispensational theology, Paul was the messenger to the gentiles, and Christ was the minister to the Jews. It focuses on who each covenant was made as opposed to the gospel as a whole message to the followers of Christ/God.

It turns out that I was raised to believe this my whole life but it never stuck. I was raised to believe that the nation of Israel is the one God had promised in the Old Testament and that baptism is not necessary for salvation, but is a symbolic showing of the “baptism of the Holy Spirit.” I was raised to believe that Paul was the minister to us specifically. But in the end, I didn’t believe it. I didn’t know until recently that it’s dispensationalism that I don’t buy. I thought that I simply believed that Israel should be held accountable for their actions, that since Christ concerned the majority of His time on earth with the poor, sick and hungry I should too, and that well, the baptism thing still stuck.

It seems to me that the Christian Right is cutting out Christ. In fact, I think Christ would not only tell us to quit whining about being made to do what’s right, but to do it willingly and doubly what has been asked of you. Give above and beyond what you have been made to do. But then again, if Christ isn’t who we should be listening to, then oh well Paulians, let’s bury our money in the sand until our master comes back.

9 thoughts on “Twisted Christianity: Cutting out Christ.

  1. As an outside observer, I felt this comment was so right:

    the Christian Right wants ….. to run the country with Christian values, but not fiscally, only sexually.

    It seems to me that sometimes patriotism and capitalism have replaced christianity and the teachings of Jesus as the basis for your country.

    • In my opinion, nationalism is one of the greatest threats to Christianity in the last century. Not to sound like Glenn beck, but German and American nationalism have done a great deal of harm to Christianity.

  2. Do people really say that? Paul was sent to the Gentiles, we’re Gentiles, so ignore Jesus?

    But compare “Not one jot of the Law will pass away”- Jesus- to you yourselves have been taught by God to love one another- Paul. You still have to read it selectively.

    • Yea. They even went on to say the proof is that God doesn’t give us everything we ask for like Jesus promised “Ask and it shall be given. See and ye shall find. Knock and it shall be opened unto you.” Matthew 7:7. As if God is giving Israel everything that they ask for now, or even up until now. What do they think the Holocaust was? Asked for? Come on.

      They use it for convenience sake in an argument. “Well, actually that wasn’t meant for us that was for the Jews,” but ten minutes later it’s all important. I don’t get it. Actually my ever silent husband has been challenging them on this. It scares me that people listen to their preachers and or Scoffield and Matthew Henry without reservation. They are people with opinions.

      • “They even went on to say the proof is that God doesn’t give us everything we ask for like Jesus promised”. That outlook is the type of prosperity gospel that I despise. The idea that Jesus will give us everything we ask for simply is not biblical. The meaning behind Matthew 7:7 gets twisted when read through the lens of want instead of through the lens of true need. Jesus never promised that our lives would be easy. In fact Jesus said just the opposite (John 16:33).

        Additionally, to indicate Jesus was the minister to Jews, while it was on Paul to do the same for gentiles is, well… confusing. One would have to dig hard in the bible to be able to carefully pluck select verses out of context in order to attempt to support this view. While Paul was quite skilled in knowing and understanding his audience (be it Jew or Gentile), Paul was open to ministering to anyone regardless of background.

        • It is isn’t it. We got into that too in that discussion. About God’s hands being on things and God willing things. This of course got into my miscarriage, which I refuse to believe God willed. Because God didn’t. But I figured the money and rewards type of religion was another post for another day. Lol.

          The second part that you’re talking about, the dispensations, I understand but I don’t. It’s a hermeneutic, I get it, but it is a couple people’s idea of the proper hermeneutic not necessarily the right one. Usually the lens we use to read the Gospel aren’t biblical but churchical. haha. They are added to, to help us rightly divide God’s Word, but sometimes people use them incorrectly.

          • I agree that we have to be careful to separate “churchical” (love it!) from biblical at times. Ecclesiastical tradition is only good in as much as it supports biblical teachings.

            As always, I appreciate your honest take on things!

  3. I think many ‘religious’ arguments can be short circuited by quoting one verse. It is a verse with a concept that is echoed in many if not all religions and a yardstick from which there is no hiding or rationalizing ( if honest). ” Love the Lord your God with your whole mind and heart and your neighbor as yourself”. Jesus stated that this was the whole entirety of the law. In every argument refer back to this and see if the proposed action or inaction is in accord.
    I wish I were able to adhere to it’s principles consistently. It is always a clear gauge of our true motives or place in our spiritual journey. It rises above debates concerning the Old or New Testament, or if it is speaking to Gentile or Jew.

  4. Pingback: Twisted Christianity: When Love not the World became Don’t Give a Shit. | Sacred Struggler

Complaints, Compliments and Questions

