Blogging / First love / Thoughts

Racing to the red light
Is how I’ve always been
It’s the sure thing,
The only one that’s truly dependable
The only one entirely in your control.

Yellow is a guessing game
One I’ve seen too many times.
Will I make it this time?
Or slam on the brakes and wait for the next?
Or will the person in front of me make my decision for me?
The one in front always makes your decision for you

That’s part of the reason I am racing to the red light.
Even if it’s already red
I want to be the one who decides when to stop
And when to go.

When the light is green I keep my distance
Give it time
I’ve got all the time in the world.
I like the space in case people are stupid
They’re always just a little thick.
Why not hang back and let the traffic flow around me?
It’s decisionless and easy.

This morning I see the ones around me
Racing to the red lights
And I get it,
It just turns out my lights are green right now.
They’re all green, all the way.
And someways that is easier
And sometimes that is numbing,
But today,
I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Complaints, Compliments and Questions

