First love / Thoughts

Nothing New

I’ve always been an option in your mind,
Someone you can fall too.
Someone who’s there when you need to talk.
Always 🙂
Sometimes I wonder if you ever considered just how I felt about that.
About being:
The one who’s always there for you.
The one you think you can depend on
But never be there for.
The one you think you can whisk away
The one you think would drop it all
Sometimes I wonder if you ever consider me.
You say things that make me think I’m unwilling to sacrifice for friendship
Unwilling to really be there for you
But when have you ever really been there for me?
What makes you think that the loss has to be mine?
What makes you think that I’m
The one who sits and waits to be called upon?
That I’m
The one who can or should be hidden?
The one with no self-esteem?
The one with no pride?

It’s your turn.
Because now, I’m
The one who’s done.

The one who’s done getting emotionally invested.
The one who’s done giving.
I’m done being
The one.
When I’ve always been
The one who has to beg for a hand out from your bottom drawer.
And now I’m
The one who’s done with that.
And you know, that’s something new.

One thought on “Nothing New

Complaints, Compliments and Questions

