First love / Life

Fear of Honesty

Why do people lie to people who know they are lying?
Do they think they’re stupid? Are they lying to themselves?
Do they think that they can convince them, or themselves?

I blame myself for your behavior.
If I ask you to be honest, you will lie just to test me.
Any demand I make of you, you have to push it.
I tell you that you can’t tear me down emotionally, you prove you can.
And who takes the blame for it, me.
You tell me that if I don’t do demand honesty, you’ll give it to me.
You tell me that when I tell you I won’t break, you have to rise to the occasion.
And I believe that.
And every time I hear your lies,
I know that you are lying
And somewhere inside I ask myself
What did I do to make you lie to me?

You know I know you’re lying.
And yet you do it anyway,
Why?
Do you think I’m stupid?
Do you think I’ll buy it?
Are you lying to yourself?
Or are you really doing it
Because they would like to believe the alternate reality they’ve created exists in the world they physically live in.
Making the lie believable would make it better in the mental world they live in.

Or are you just afraid?
“I know you want me to see don’t lie to me
Why you gotta go be so shy to me?
I ain’t buying the false anxiety, let your fortress fall
What is it gonna take to get you there?
If fear was money you’d be a millionaire
Or all alone in a leather swivel chair counting stacks of gold.
You are my Manhattan from the sky
You look so neat and tidy when I’m way up high,
But I know your streets are lined with a fine mess inside
And I wanna come down and walk around your mind.” ~Kate Voegele

Complaints, Compliments and Questions

