First love / Thoughts

Footholds

Lie awake nights
Staring at the walls I
Build between you and I.
Stacking bricks high
And higher
Making sure they settle
Securely.
But they are staggered.
Some bigger some smaller. I
Know that tomorrow I’ll
Need the footholds, I’ll
Scale the wall I
Built. Exhausted. I
Lie down next to
You for just a second and begin again. I
Lie awake nights between the wall I
Built yesterday and the one I
Am building tonight. I
Will scale that wall tomorrow
All the while knowing that
You will never scale the wall I
Build between you and I.
And I see it from a distance,
There are hundreds of walls around the place where we stared.
Hundreds of walls radiating outward from our center.
I have climbed those walls and
I have built them higher every time.
I have scaled them all and you
Will never climb a single wall. Your
Words coax me over while you
Stand still, and lie with me at night
If only for a second.
What do I see in those eyes that makes me build those walls?
What do I see in those eyes that makes me scale them all?

Complaints, Compliments and Questions

